A quick thought on Faith as a Virtue.

Søren Aabye Kierkegaard gave us that horrible phrase, a “leap of faith.

St. Augustine, however, had been much the wiser when he had identified faith as a virtue, and defined virtue as:

“A natural disposition consistent with nature and reason.”

That would make faith out to be a natural disposition, consistent with both nature and reason. I think this is the correct way to conceive of faith.

About tylerjourneaux

I am an aspiring Catholic theologian and philosopher, and I have a keen interest in apologetics. I am creating this blog both in order to practice and improve my writing and memory retention as I publish my thoughts, and in order to give evidence of my ability to understand and communicate thoughts on topics pertinent to Theology, Philosophy, philosophical theology, Catholic (Christian) Apologetics, philosophy of religion and textual criticism.
This entry was posted in Apologetics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quick thought on Faith as a Virtue.

  1. Kierkegaard is the most honest Christian I have ever encountered in my travels.

    Given the nature of my doubts at the time, there is simply no way I would have persisted in actively seeking out the sacrament of confirmation without his dictum that “Christianity demands the crucifixion of the intellect.” To this day, I can still pick up one of his works and take spiritual nourishment from it, even if I end up ultimately rejecting this or that of his conclusions. I can’t say the same for obscurantists like Plantinga or Moreland.

    There is the God of Abraham, and there is the blasphemous God of the philosophers. The God of Abraham wants you to slit the throat of your only son, no questions asked. The God of the philosophers “wants” nothing since “he” is some etiolated metaphysical placeholder for the abground of the ground of the all of the absolute of the being of the eternity of actuality or some such nonsense.

    • Don’t get me wrong, I like Kierkegaard too, but I think he was as confused as you are about the essence of faith, and its relation to reason.

      For what it’s worth, I appreciate your honesty in admitting your sympathies with him.

Leave a Reply

