Given A-theory, and Theism, could God travel backwards through time?

To travel backwards through time might mean something like, making what was past, present. On an A-theory, that would mean making what was robustly real in the past, but is no longer robustly real in the present, robustly real in the present (and making what was robustly real in the present no longer robustly real, so that the whole of some point in the past is made robustly real, and nothing but what was robustly real at that point is now robustly real). Is it logically possible for God to change the world such that what was past becomes present? If it is possible, then time travel is logically/metaphysically possible on A-theory provided Theism (i.e., given omnipotence).  I’m not sure this works, but as I’ve argued before, I’m not sure time travel is logically possible on the B-theory either.

About tylerjourneaux

I am an aspiring Catholic theologian and philosopher, and I have a keen interest in apologetics. I am creating this blog both in order to practice and improve my writing and memory retention as I publish my thoughts, and in order to give evidence of my ability to understand and communicate thoughts on topics pertinent to Theology, Philosophy, philosophical theology, Catholic (Christian) Apologetics, philosophy of religion and textual criticism.
This entry was posted in Language, Philosophical Theology, Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

