Correspondence theory of Truth

A day or two ago I ran into somebody who rejected, or seemed to reject, all forms of (the) correspondence theory of truth. Now, I suspect that he may have accepted, or at least been open to, my suggestion of ‘experiential correspondence’. In any case, however, his rejection made the finding of the following resource all the more timely for me; Joshua Rasmussen, a post doctoral philosophy professor at the university of Notre Dame (where I’m aiming to be in a few years) did his doctoral dissertation on “What Propositions Correspond To and How They Do It“. He has written a book, soon to be published, on Correspondence theory where he argues for a correspondence theory of truth. The book will be called “A Defense of a Correspondence Theory of Truth” and, according to his outline, Chapters 2,4 and 6 look particularly interesting. Chapter 2 is on various objections to a correspondence theory of truth, many of which I am not now familiar with. The fourth chapter will develop a theory of propositions, and that is perhaps the most interesting to me, as I’m becoming more and more inclined to agree with Aquinas when he suggests that propositions don’t exist (at least propositionally) in the mind of God, but represent a sort of ‘façon de parler‘ which we are bound to. Finally Chapter 6, and all following chapters, seem to return to various objections presented in Chapter 2 and deal with them at length – the sixth chapter dealing with what is called “the funny facts objection”. Here’s a taste of his second Chapter.

I look forward to purchasing this book and reading through it. You can find the prospectus for the book here, and you can find Dr. Rasmussen’s home page here.

About tylerjourneaux

I am an aspiring Catholic theologian and philosopher, and I have a keen interest in apologetics. I am creating this blog both in order to practice and improve my writing and memory retention as I publish my thoughts, and in order to give evidence of my ability to understand and communicate thoughts on topics pertinent to Theology, Philosophy, philosophical theology, Catholic (Christian) Apologetics, philosophy of religion and textual criticism.
This entry was posted in Correspondence Theory, Philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Correspondence theory of Truth

  1. Pingback: Who is Truth? Correspondence Theory and God the Son | The Theological Arsenal

  2. Thanks for the kind preview! I hope it’s okay for me to point out that you can still get a discount from pre-ordering from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Defending-Correspondence-Theory-Joshua-Rasmussen/dp/1107057744

Leave a Reply

